Heaven Knows…

“To the world you may be one person; but to one person you may be the world.” – Dr. Seuss

Over the weekend I heard a song faintly playing in the background, “God Only Knows” by the Beach Boys. Even though this song is almost 50 years old and mind you I’m a Motown kid, the song makes me think wherever I am; listening in the car, walking around in the Mall or shopping in the grocery store whenever it plays.  The message is still clear to me as it was the first time I heard it. It’s simple and basic; we need each other.

Sometimes I think we underestimate the impact that we have on each other.  Whether it’s professional and personal relationships, I either learn something new about myself or become very grateful about some aspect in my life.  The surprises continue to foster the capacity to become my best self.

A wonderful and a very busy lady who didn’t know before I entered her cluttered office, gave me a moment of her time as a favor of a friend.  Within ten minutes she shared career advice that impacted what I’m doing today!

There is a flipside to this though…

If fate plays itself out this weekend, I will have an in-person conversation with someone that I thought completely destroyed my chances to finish my dissertation research. What’s interesting, I’m not mad at this person.  I admit that I was upset and felt completely lost at the time. I thought the world was secretly out to get me! Somehow this perceived obstacle, empowered me to reach a goal that I thought was unattainable.

Brian Wilson said in an interview last year, that “God Only Knows” was the best song that he ever wrote. I know his personal life was falling apart even though he was having success and fame.  Apparently, his second wife saved his life.  I wonder how many people would be willing to acknowledge the power that another person freely gave to them.

I expect the song to be played more because of the upcoming Beach Boys movie called “Love and Mercy.” The BBC remixed the song for a fundraiser to help provide music education to underserved children in Great Britain. Enjoy, click here.

Leave a Reply

