“Thrive” – Book Review

Thrive Book Cover

 

“What is Success?  It is being able to go to bed each night with your soul at peace.” – Paulo Coelho

I remember hearing about Arianna Huffington was during her husband’s election and win to be U.S. Congressman for the State of California in 1992. A beautiful wife and mother, with a strong Greek accent and very intelligent. She redefined power for me; quiet yet strong. Even though I didn’t like her politics at the time, I could though respect her.

Within a few years, Arianna’s life changed again; a very public divorce with two small children. Her journey over the years, she found ways to remain true to who she was; a politician, news commentator, and, eventually editor of the Huffington Post. I felt that she was made of steel, but there is always another side.

So, when I had the opportunity to review her latest paperback edition of “Thrive,” I took on the challenge. Eventually, something has to give in life. Arianna gives us a fresh look at redefining success by using Third Metrics.

The Third Metrics has three values: well-being to cultivate good health; wisdom to help us reconnect ourselves; and wonder to build the capacity to give. I have had read my fair share of articles and books about how stressed and overworked people are. I appreciate Arianna’s approach. It’s balanced; down-to-earth and not preachy.

She opens up her life to allow the reader to gain insights through current research and her personal experiences. Arianna honesty comes across as genuine and authentic.

I had a several “aha” moments reading through the book. One moment that I had was reading about sleep. Until recently, I swear I could get by on five hours or less of sleep. So, I took the sleep challenge that Arianna mentions in her book.

It took a few evenings, but I turned off the television at 11:00pm and slept until 7:00am. The difference is subtle but palpable enough to make me reconsider my nightly routine. I actually yawned for the first time that I could remember. Instead of passing out in front the television with the laptop perched on arm the chair. I feel rested and lost two pounds this week!

The lens of the Third Metrics allows us to redefine what it means to be successful. As she states at the end of the day, what would be said about you after you pass on?

It seems very cliche to read about being mindful. The benefit though of being mindful is building strong relationships. Relationships that will matter instead of possession and achievements. Arianna is very candid about her family struggles; a poor child divorce and her oldest daughter’s drug problems. She also shared the day her mother died, and I wish my last day on earth would be like Arianna’s mom.

Life can throw us experiences for a loop, but we need to find the divinity and dignity in each experience. We can’t see it, if we’re not tuned in a way to see it.

I would recommend this book to a colleague or friend who is looking for ways to restore themselves.  Arianna help you find ways to love yourself.  The ways are simple. You don’t have to read the book cover to cover, each section could taking out order and you could read what you need.

The important thing is that you find the nugget that resonates with you and apply it to your life.  Arianna reminds that our lives are gifts and life is definitely precious.

I’m glad I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.

Leave a Reply

