To Win is to Write

Cremer Writing

Over the past two years, I have been working on a goal to become a writer. I love reading books and telling stories. Now, I would like to take those two experiences that I love to do and start writing my own stories.

In the next 24 hours, I will take part in the National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWritMo) challenge. During the month of November, several thousand writers throughout the United States and Europe, will be writing a 50,000 word novel. It will be a rough draft at the end of the month, but it’s the first start to writing a book. I just want be a winner and it’s easy to be a winner in the world of NaNoWritMo. A winner is someone who has finished a draft of a novel on November 30.

The fictional characters in my story are four best girlfriends who live in Los Angeles. They will be dealing with the issue of cyber-bullies, also called trolls. It’s a complex and difficult problem to deal with because it’s so counter-intuitive. Just recently, an article by Maria Konnikova in the New Yorker illustrates the complexity of cyber-bulling and the impact it has on our society.

The topic of cyber-bullying has intrigued me since the death of Tyler Clementi from Rutgers University, Monica Lewinsky’s transformation, and my own personal battles with a cyber-bully. As a part of my two-year journey, I am learning that a true artist has a responsibility to reflect the societal issues of her time, so I decided to write a story about this social problem.

I will keep you posted when I hit NaNoWritMo milestones. And in the spirit of Pope Francis, who is a modern day prophet in my eyes, please remember to “pray for me” and I will do the same for you.

One comment

Leave a Reply

