“Mama you have a…

tan line from your shorts!” Sami, our youngest daughter noticed a few days ago when I was getting ready to go on a morning walk with a friend. I looked at my legs and then noticed the edge of my shorts. Sure enough I have been walking enough to have two-toned legs! I have to admit it has been a while since I have seen my legs look like this!

It was a good laugh to start the day, but also a good reminder about taking baby steps that make significant changes in your life. My tan line was sign that I am moving the dial in the right direction. I’m finally taking care of myself.

As a little girl, I remembered my Grandpa Bill walking a lot. He would walk from a small town called Bridge City outside of New Orleans to the French Quarter at least twice a week. If my calculations are correct, it was a 13 mile trip, one way. His satchel would be empty going but filled with fruit, vegetables, candy, cookies and cakes from his trip to feed his 12 grandchildren and their parents. He was like my own personal black Santa Claus! I’m sure that Grandpa Bill could have found a ride to get to the French Quarter, but walking allowed him to think about things in his life.

I have learned a lot this past month. I have a lot to be grateful for in my life. My walking has allowed me the space to pray the rosary, to count my blessings, and to help me think quietly even when I am surrounded by lots of people walking the Rose Bowl too. Many thanks to to my family and friends for being a part of making tan lines appear on my legs over the past few weeks.

Leave a Reply

